You Will Never Be as Beautiful as You Are Right Now.

Leave a comment

May 26, 2015 by jeliwobble

Aging

I have never been beautiful. This is a fact that I am quite comfortable with, as it is one that I have been aware of for the majority of my life. However, I sometimes feel the loss of my youthful body and my ‘great hair’. As I have hurtled* unerringly towards my mid-40s, I have come to realise that taking care of this meat sack that my consciousness rides round in is becoming more imperative than I ever thought was likely. At the very least, barring accidents, I have another 20-odd years to get through, though conceivably many more, given the longevity of my grandparents. I would like to avoid heart attacks, strokes, avoidable cancer, and diabetic complications. So, moving more seems to be in order. To this end, I have allowed Him Indoors to drag me, kicking and screaming, into the world of activity trackers, and I am now the proud owner of a Garmin Vivosmart.

I have spent the last two weeks being at its beck and call… It tells me when I need to move. After an hour, it buzzes and, if I don’t get up and move, it buzzes every 15 minutes until I do. I have walked more in the last two weeks than I have walked since last summer when we were in the UK! This is not a bad thing, per se, just that when I am in the house, with the baby in bed, there’s not many places to walk…circuits of my upstairs are fairly dull.

Over the bank holiday weekend, we went on two hikes and did our neighbourhood loop (just under two miles) twice. I have now set myself an impossible ‘steps goal’ because apparently it thinks I do 4 mile walks on a regular basis…which is probably true when I’m in the UK, but not here in the US!

I was thinking about being healthy and looking better when I ended up listening to Isabel Allende talking about her TED talk on NPR. She was talking about ageing and how she felt about it. Then she said something that really hit home to me. You will never be more beautiful than you are right now, so embrace it and love the body you are in right now.

So, I am going to do precisely that. I am not going to worry about my weight, particularly as I have put on over ten pounds since we got back from the UK in August last year. I am going to love this flabby, tired, old meat sack, and just move more. Everything else is endlessly pointless. I will never be more beautiful than I am right now, and I’m going to enjoy it!

 

*It is a truism that time passes by much quicker the older you are. It truly doesn’t feel like I was 40 three years ago. As Eldest pointed out the other day, this is because a year becomes an increasingly a smaller part of one’s life, the older you get. As a child, a year is a significant portion of your life; at 43, it’s not…

Leave a Reply

