Lost in Translation

3

October 18, 2013 by jeliwobble

I love my baby group but I had forgotten what it was like to hang out with people on a regular basis with whom you have no common history and, worse, no common cultural history either.

I think I can cope with the common history; I have lived here in the same town for long enough, and gone to previous baby groups as well as being involved in various school things, to know enough people to vaguely pick up on enough gossip to contribute to a conversation.

The cultural history though, is an entirely different ball game. Today’s example interested me enough to want to write about it!

One of our members was lucky enough to be invited to a secret gig last night. Just a small thing, done to promote the singer’s new album, along with a professional photo session, atop a roof in Brooklyn, crowded with the terribly hip and cool. When she said who it was with, there were gasps and ‘You’re so lucky’s…well, except from me, who just looked blank.

Turns out the singer was the lead singer with the well known 90s American rock band, Live. Well known in the US anyway. They didn’t really break the UK market, though I shouldn’t imagine they cared about that.

Thinking on it, around the time that Live were popular here, I was attending a secret gig myself at the London Astoria, given by one rather well known Britpop band on the launch of their 1996 album. I realised that, had I mentioned that I was on a rooftop in Brooklyn watching Damon Albarn do a secret gig for a new solo album, I probably would have had the same blank looks from my baby group as I gave them!

3 thoughts on “Lost in Translation

  1. Pam Abate says:

    I’ve never heard of a band named Live either!

  2. Nicole santos says:

    If you had said Blur, I definitely would have swooned!

Leave a Reply

