A Bruhaha.

1

September 10, 2013 by jeliwobble

A few days ago, I read this post. As I had just written yesterday’s post for my blog, my heart was sad and I was thinking very hard about the pressures on young female teens to attain some unachievable media driven ideal of beauty and so I felt moved to respond to it. I wasn’t very articulate but it went something along the lines of ‘My teen girl wears hoodies and thinks she’s ugly so your sons have nothing to worry about’. Probably not really what the author of the post was angling at, but that was my response. I very much don’t want my daughter to put half-naked selfies on the internet in some attempt to garner acceptance for her poor body image, just as much as I don’t want her to be told she ‘wants it‘ because she is dressed nicely and dancing provocatively.

This morning, I read this post and felt ashamed. I didn’t see that the previous post could have been perceived as ‘slut shaming‘ and that, actually, it is *just* as bad to point out that one looks like a slut, posting selfies in your odd tits out, butt out, scooped back pose in your nightwear, as it is for the media to perpetuate the myth that this is the only way to act.

Poor teenaged girls. We’ve got them coming *and* going, haven’t we?

One thought on “A Bruhaha.

  1. ThePudnud says:

    Man! That first blog p****d me right off!! Love the response blog though!

Leave a Reply

